JustBeer: A simple beer blog…

Beer info from normal dudes…

Brewery Ommegang Hennepin Farmhouse Saison

Posted by dugpark on February 29, 2008

Started tonight with a couple of margaritas after a long week of work… the perfect compliment to the beer-with-dinner we experienced last night:

the-bar.jpg

Since I didn’t really feel like chasing margaritas with ordinary beer, I stopped at PCC on the way home, just outside of Redmond, and picked up about 5 different brews.  I have heard a lot about Brewery Ommegang in my perusing of the net and Draft Magazine, but never had a chance to pick it up.  Well, it was on sale for $7.50 so I thought what the hell.

The first thing I noticed was the outstanding pop the cork made as I pulled it easily out of the top of the bottle.  I could tell there were some good contents under pressure there and that this beer was ready to be enjoyed.  From there, the mist that seeped out of the bottle caught the attention of me and my daughter and as I began to pour, its heavier-than-air characteristics poured into the glass just before the golden ale.  I poured a full glass with a 1/4 head and breathed in the wonderful aroma of the beer.

Ah… the anticipation to the first drink… whoa!  Not exactly what I was expecting… super-strong for my unsophisticated taste buds, this beer really has a kick.  I mean, I knew it did based on the alcohol content, but I didn’t expect it.  I wonder how much of that was due to the sweet margaritas from earlier… anyhow, it took me a glass and a half to really get the hang of this beer but now I am starting to understand why it gets some of the high praises I have seen. 

Brewery Ommegang’s Hennepin Farmhouse Saisonis a very complex beer that can’t be taken lightly.  This isn’t the type of drink that you head into the cul-de-sac with or that you keep by your side while you tend to the BBQ.  This beer needs to be enjoyed and appreciated or the complexity is easily lost in what might appear to be a standard ale.  As I read more about the saison style, I can see how Hennepin is the embodiment of it. 

Overall a good beer.  It would have to be somewhat of a special occasion to buy this again, but I would do it.  Maybe next time with some fine cheese and crackers…

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

ommegang-hennepin.gif    ommegang-hennepin-pour.gif

Note to self: This is beer review #85. 

2 Responses to “Brewery Ommegang Hennepin Farmhouse Saison”

  1. PulSamsara said

    I really like this beer too.

    Hennepin !

    Yippy !

  2. dugpark said

    Yes… yippy! :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

