Brewery Ommegang Three Philosophers Quadrupel

I really tried to do this post last night, but after a full day of drinking and BBQ, I was bushed.  So, here we are the day after and here is my review.

Preface:

I started the grill at about 4:00.  We were doing 2 racks of Memphis style pork ribs and one rack of plain for sauce.  Fifteen lbs. of pork ribs on the grill is a beautiful thing and my only regret is that I didn’t take a picture… aw well.  So, I wanted an easy drinking beer as I was working… the $16 twenty-four pack of Henry’s at Costco did the trick just fine.  Anyhow, we were done eating about 7:00pm (and the ribs were fantastic, btw) and the neighbors were all hanging out, so I decided it would be a good time for some beer tasting.  Not all the way to my XXXX, but close with the following…

The Tasting:

Brewery Ommegang Three Philosophers Quadrupel.  One of those beers that I have been wanting to drink for some time now.  It has always been super intriguing and I just like the name, to be honest.  So, I popped the cork with a good little *pop* and we could immediately smell a faint hint of cherry (comes from the cherry lambic that is mixed in).  I poured 3 mugs for those around the table outside and we set off to tasting.  The beer had a good head on it, so through the foam, my first flavor hit me and… well… I wasn’t sure.  Really… it was sneaky.  I kind of waited for something strong to hit me and… it didn’t.  All of the flavors were very, very subtle.  Even the Belgian yeast was subtle.  The cherry was just a slight hint and overall, the beer belied its 9.8% ABV and snuck in as a mild Belgian Quadrupel with light to medium depth but overall good flavor.

I have decided now, the day after, that I will have to buy this one again.  I am pretty sure it will change flavors on me next time and I want to isolate the experience and really *taste* it.  So, verdict for now:

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Brewery Ommegang, Quadrupel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brewery Ommegang Three Philosophers Quadrupel

  1. Shea says:

    I’ve wanted to try this for some time too. It sounds intriguing and I didn’t realize they mixed in cherry lambic. Given this is bottle conditioned, it should age for some time in proper conditions. It’d pretty cool to taste over time.

  2. dugpark says:

    Not a bad idea at all… maybe next time I go I will get two instead and we can do a review a year from now. 🙂

  3. tysdaddy says:

    Being a philosophy major, I so have to try this. How available is it?

  4. dugpark says:

    This one is pretty available. I have found it at Top Food, QFC, and seen it at many a specialty beer store. It is one of their standard brews.

    I am sure it will help you wax philisophical and what not… 🙂

  5. beerofkings says:

    This stuff is manna from heaven! My all time favorite Ommegang beer.

  6. tysdaddy says:

    Hey!

    I finally got in touch with my local beer guy, and he ordered some Three Philosophers in for me. It’s sitting on my counter right now. Should I refridgerate?

    Now we NEED to get together so I can have someone to drink it with. Whatcha up to this weekend . . .

  7. dugpark says:

    I really need to get another bottle. I think my tastes have changed. I would refrigerate… but I would also let it warm up just a bit before you drink it to get the full intent of the beer. I generally don’t get together with strangers from blog comments, to be honest with you, but maybe we know each other? 🙂

  8. Pingback: The Horror! « The Cheek of God

  9. tysdaddy says:

    Ha!

    I JUST realized that this isn’t the blog I thought it was when I wrote my comment dated 11/18/08. How embarrassing . . . I have a friend who started a blog about beer and he is the one that clued me in to Three Philosophers. So, when I finally got a bottle, I did a rather quick, and apparently incomplete, search for blogs that talked about the beer, I found this one, came here, thought maybe the look had changed, and added a comment. (That sentence? A doozy, I tell ya!)

    Anyway, I finally got to drink my bottle of Three Philosophers. Very tasty . . . We ended up refrigerating it, and the head was glorious. The first sip? Wow. Then it settled down, and went down very smoothly.

    So, anyway, thanks for the tip. And for playing along with a complete idiot.

    Peace!

    Brian

Leave a comment