Quilter’s Irish Death

Tonight was the night to open one of the stronger beers.  It has been a long week (only Tuesday, I know) and I need some of the hard stuff… at least something with some kick.  So, I reached for Quilter’s Irish Death from Iron Horse Brewery in Ellensburg, WA.  A somewhat local brewery that hasn’t been open for long, but can make a good tasting beer, that is for sure.

I learned a few things about this beer tonight.  First, it is a dark, malty stout beer with a smooth finish.  Second, that it goes rather well with Rice Krispie Treats.  Really…

Good pour, nice and dark but slightly transparent.  Good head for a stout.  Good smell… can smell the roastedness of the beer.  And the flavor, at 47.4 °F was just about right.  The malt is definitely there, which gives this one a good depth of flavor.  I note some slight chocolate undertones, as well.  Their descripion on the website says there are a bunch of ingredients, so that could be one of the reasons I had a hard time really pinning anything down.

Overall, a good beer.  In a land of good stouts, though, I don’t think they stand out that much, so I give them middle of the road. 

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

 

About dugpark

A big fan of beer for quite some time now... I just want to share my tastes with my friends and family... enjoy.
This entry was posted in Iron Horse Brewery, Stout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quilter’s Irish Death

  1. chipperdave says:

    That Ironhorse Quilter’s Irish Death sounds delicious! I’ll have to look for it when I visit northern Idaho later this summer. I’ve often found that dark beers go well with either sweets or ice cream. You should try making a float with this. Love that label – any liquid with a skull and crossbones should be drank with caution.

  2. Jesse aka Mac Daddy says:

    Was celebrating May 2nd my divorce at one of my favorite Tacoma bars, The Swiss. They too are celebrating an event..their 15th year and while I haven’t warmed a bar stool there over those years I first started frequenting the Swiss not long after their opening as I worked up the hill at St. Joe’s Hospital for several years in the mid 1990s. I’ve had many a wonderful times with ladies and friends at the Swiss and have literally been there dozens upon dozens of times.

    Having a good dash of Irish in me and possessing an Irish surname I simply had to try the Irish Death on tap last Friday at the Swiss. I am a fan of dark beers and ales and this one was very good. Solid, tasty and no after taste. A damn good ale! Definitely one of my favorites along with the Arrogant Bastard brothers Bastard and Double Bastard. Congratulations to the Swiss for bringing great beer and music to Tacoma for three quarters of a score of years.

  3. dugpark says:

    Ah… I would love to try this on tap. The Swiss must be a pretty decent place if they serve some quality craft on tap. Glad to hear you enjoyed it and will have to frequent that little locale next time I am down that way.

  4. DJ Widget says:

    My wife and I recently tried this beer here in Spokane, WA at our favorite bar “Baby Bar” we usually go there for the stiff drinks, but we decided to try this. We are so happy we did. If you like Guinness, Moose Drool, 1554, or Smithwicks then this is right up your alley!

    • dugpark says:

      I was talking to my good friend the other day and he noted that he had this on tap, as well, and that it was really good on tap… but then he picked up a bottle and took it home and he said it was completely different and he didn’t like it at all… would love to know if there are similar views on this… glad you liked it DJ… loving craft brews is what it is all about. :)

      Dug

  5. Ulvblod ov Fenrir says:

    I just tried this beer down at the pub this evening. It was incredibly heady and the bartender didn’t pour it right so it got all over my hand and the glass. Sugar or chocolate is a definite ingredient, it left my hand feeling sticky after it dried. The taste was a bit bitter and less roasted in my opinion and it left this sickening sweet aftertaste. It wasn’t a bad dark beer, but it wasn’t good by any measure.

  6. David says:

    It’s on tap at Toad House in Bremerton

  7. Rachel says:

    I was wondering around Leavenworth, WA with my mom when I was visiting a couple of months ago. I have a friend in MT who is Irish and I saw this beer and had to buy it for him. Well, I got it back home and he shared it with me and a few othe people. OMG, this is one of the best beers I have ever tasted and I am not much for dark beer.

  8. I had one of these tonight at High Tides Tavern, Port Orchard Wa.
    Made a trip from Portland, haven’t been in High Tides for over (2) years [I used to live within walking distance to High Tides]
    I noticed that they replaced the Guinness tap with this one[Guinness had been here for years], so I tried it.
    I was very impressed, it was kind of sweet, but in a good way, what I was drawn to was this fresh earthy taste, kind of that unfiltered “homebrew” feel, even though this beer has a high alcohol %, it was well balanced, no anoying “Cider” effect detected.
    One of the BEST dark beers I have EVER tried, and I HAVE tryed quite a few.
    Think of this one as a “SUPER MURPHYS”[Murphy's is my favorite Irish beer,so that would be a big compliment comming from me]

  9. Jon says:

    I have to say I was really disappointed in this one. I like Guiness. I’m fond of Samuel Smith’s oatmeal stout and love Old Chub. This beer just tasted off to me. I had it from a bottle and perhaps it was too sweet. I like my stouts to taste slightly sour (like Guiness’ tanginess) this beer just didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

