JustBeer: A simple beer blog…

Beer info from normal dudes…

Reunion ’08 Organic Red Rye Ale

Posted by dugpark on May 3, 2008

This might be my last post for a few days… I am going out of town to a training class in Philadelphia, PA, and I don’t know how much time I will have to take pics.  Will try hard to get some good east coast craft brews going on, but just not sure.  Schedule says we are going to 8pm every night which will make me very tired, I am sure.  Po will have to hold up the fort! :)

So, in honor of a potential break from the blog, I decided to go with a decidedly good caused beer tonight…  Reunion ’08 Organic Red Rye Ale.  I had never heard of this until I purchased this 22 oz. bottle at Top the other day, but this is a really good idea… so good that I wouldn’t be surprised if there are other such programs floating around out there.  Michael Jackson’s Rare Beer Club even features this brew, so you know they have to be on to something. 

So, a good cause, some good press, a unique offering… what does it all add up to?  Does it match the hype?  Can it get the ultimate endorsement of tasting good?

I believe we can say yes on this one, folks.  Reunion ’08, if nothing else, is something different.  The front of the bottle is refreshingly devoid of any breweries, although it does look like it comes to us from Bison Brewingin California.  The picture is somewhat reminiscent of Rogue’s labels.  The pour was good… not much of a head, but a deep, dark redish amber color that appears to have a very high viscosity as you can see the carbonation struggling a little bit to reach the top of the glass.  The taste is thick and smooth with a bitter aftertaste that leaves your lips a little numb.  But it is a good taste… not so hoppy or malty, to be honest, but do not be alarmed… this is beer to its core.  I can definitely tell this isn’t your standard brew, but I like it… I really like it.  The bottle has just gracefully disappeared down my throat and I have to say I am saddened.  Ah well… I guess I will just have to pick it up again. :)

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

Trying something a little different with my picture today.  I am trying out some software from Nik Software… their Color Efex Pro 3.0 to be exact.  Pretty damn cool software for Photoshop.  I just processed some portraits with it and it did some amazing things.  The below filter is the Monday Morning filter.  Pretty damn cool if I do say so myself.

One Response to “Reunion ’08 Organic Red Rye Ale”

  1. [...] At 4.5% ABV, I expect something, but I might as well be drinking water…  nothing close to the Reunion ‘08 Organic Red Rye Ale that I had months and months ago… maybe Dick’s could learn something [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

