JustBeer: A simple beer blog…

Beer info from normal dudes…

Dick’s Best Bitter

Posted by dugpark on August 4, 2008

My second Dick’s Brewery beer in a row… Dick’s Best Bitter comes to us from the top shelf where other Dick’s beers are pushing to the back, trying to hide from the inevitable.  This brew couldn’t escape and I am kind of glad to have it out of the fridge, to be honest…

While Dick’s has done pretty good on the blog so far, this one took them a step back.  I really wasn’t impressed with it and had a hard time finishing the bottle.  I was in the mood… I had just enjoyed the Dick’s Pale Ale and was ready for another of their fine offerings when this one came along.  What I don’t read on their website is how sweet this is.  It is uncannily sweet, which throws me off.  I want it hoppy and bitter, damn it, like a good ESB should be.  I don’t want it offset.  Keep it blunt, please…

Good amber color, medium head, hoppy nose, light body, and super-sweet finish.  The last of which keeps this from making it to my fridge again. 

Sometimes you have to take one step back to move two steps forward the saying says… lets see if that is the case for Dick’s. :)

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

