Guinness Extra Stout

A special day of the week means a special beer…

Guinness Extra Stout has long been a favorite of mine.  I am actually surprised it took this long to make it to the blog.  Here it is in all its glory… or at least a few words.  Guinness Extra Stout, in the bottle… no nitrogen, nothing… just straight beer.  I actually like it both ways.  Draught and Extra Stout out of the bottle are equally tasty although I think you get more of the raw flavor from the bottle.  Probably my favorite aspect of Guinness is that it is dark but not heavy… full flavored but not filling. 

Overall a great beer, although I tried to make a four leaf clover in the head like they did at a bar in the UK… I failed miserably and ended up making it look like a deformed squirrel… go figure.

Bottle:

guinness-extra-stout.gif

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Guinness, Stout and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guinness Extra Stout

  1. Peter Ericsson says:

    In Sabah, East Malaysia, there is a special Guinness brew that has 8(eight)% alcohol. That makes the beer taste so much better as it goes well with the rich flavour of the beer. I can’t drink a lot of Guinness but definitely cherish this beer. (it cost a crazy 7$/pint in the supermarket here)….

  2. dugpark says:

    I could definitely see some merit in a higher ABV Guinness and will have to keep an eye out next time I am out that way. Do you happen to know the name of it, specifically?

  3. Peter Ericsson says:

    sorry for belated reply,,,,I have a picture of the beer….give me your email and I send it to you…….cheers
    Peter

  4. dugpark says:

    Thank you, sir! dugpark@hotmail.com will get it to me. cheers!

  5. cpugh says:

    Great to hear other beer guys onto Extra Stout. I have had that as a favorite since the late 60′. Used to mix it with Ballantine Ale for a great Black and Tan. The draught Guinness is a totally different drink – not part of the conversation.
    Just started our own blog. Check it out. twobeerguys.

    Charlie

Leave a Reply

