Hitachino Nest Red Rice Ale

Ahhh, Kiuchi Brewery again… this time it’s a cheeky bottle of “Red Rice Ale“, a Belgian-style brew with an attractive amber glow, a slight yeast tang, and a drinkable flavour that would have had me reaching for a second bottle  as soon as I finished the first – if I’d happened to have one in the house. Shame I didn’t, because there’s a 7%ABV kick here I’d like to carry on with… no such luck.

Apparently there’s some rice action involved in the brewing process, and there’s definitely a sake-ish hint to the palate, which lends the beer an intriguing air. The more I think about it, the more I like this one…

 Red Rice Ale

I’m determined to work my way through everything Hitachino Nest have to offer, so look for more Nest News in the coming days… I’ll probably wrap it up with a Top 5 drink-off where we go through all of them again and see if we can come up with the definitive list of Best Nests. How’s that for something to look forward to?

This entry was posted in Ale, Hitachino Nest, Japan, Kiuchi Brewery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

