B.B. Burgerbrau Lager

I have mixed emotions about today as a beer day… I think what did me in was the tainting of my beer pallet by the that nasty stuff that we had for lunch, PBR.  I know Po thinks this stuff is the shiznit, but it really, really isn’t.  I went from that to something I thought would bring me back to some semblance of good-beer-land in a pitcher of Pike Kilt Lifter Ruby Ale from The Pike Brewing Company.  I can’t tell if Pike Kilt Lifter just isn’t that good or if my assumption about a tainted pallet is true.  I will have to try it again, untainted and let you know.  From there to a Guinness Extra Stout in the afternoon… I sacrificed my last two Kona Pipeline Porters for the greater good or else I could have really swept PBR from my mind.

So… that takes me to dinner where I thought I would try one of the lighter beers in the fridge… since we were having Mexican and all.  B.B. Burgerbrau ended up in my mug and much to my chagrin was not the answer to my strange beer day.  Come to find out, this is the stuff that supposedly is the first incarnation of Budweiser here in the states (read more from this article on entrepreneur.com).  Anyhow, this beer tasted too much like our good ol’ Budweiser and I struggled in finishing it.  I will say it was better with chocolate than Mexican food… but that is about all the good I can say.

JBB6 Rating: Just Not Right

bb-burgerbrau.gif

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in B.B. Burgerbrau, Lager and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to B.B. Burgerbrau Lager

  1. MAuld says:

    Yeah, peoples obsession with PBR boggles my mind. I pretty much try to avoid Pilsner if at all possible… which sometimes it’s not.

    Still searching for Kona Pipeline Porter. No luck. Found a Pale Ale from Kona brewing co that looked interesting. May have to try this weekend if I can’t find their Porter.

  2. Po says:

    See, dude.. there was something wrong with that first pitcher of pBR yesterday. The second one would have tasted just fine, I guarantee it!

  3. dugpark says:

    Did you check for the Pipeline Porter up at the Pine Lake QFC on the Sammamish Plateau? That is where I found it the other day. Good stuff I tell you.

  4. algionfriddo says:

    I’m a big fan of pilsners, especially from the Czech Rep. I found BB Bergerbrau to be terrific. One of the best I’ve ever tasted. I may even like it better than Pilsner Urquell… but I will need to drink several 100 more to be absolutely sure.

Leave a Reply

