Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout

I was really looking forward to Mr. Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout.  It has been sitting in my fridge for about a week, staring me in the eye every time I open the door.  Tonight, it gave me its last sultry look and I decided to have a go at it. 

First a little background… my stout virginity was taken with Captain Bastard’s Oatmeal Stout while attending Utah State in Logan, Utah at a great little local bar called the White Owl.  The White Owl served their beer in big mugs called Big Dogs which were about a pint and a half.  So… my first trip there I knew I wanted something dark since I didn’t like Bud or Miller, so I went with Captain Bastard.  At the time, I remember thinking it was pure heaven and that became my steady drink there.  Nothing like sitting up on their balcony, enjoying a steak you got to grill on their outdoor grill, enjoying a Big Dog of Captain Bastard.  Those were the good old days.

So, anyhow, that brings me into tonight with super-high expectations… I should know better.  I do love most of Mr. Samuel Smith’s beer, but this didn’t live up to my own lofty expectations.  Not that Captain Bastard would anymore either, but I have my memories to live with for now.  Tonights brew was dark, thick, and strong with a ho-hum flavor that didn’t go down nearly as smooth as I would have liked.  The best part about the beer was probably the thick, dark brown head that stuck around for a bit.  Other than that, this beer was right there in the middle of the road.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

samuel-smith-oatmeal-stout.gif

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Oatmeal Stout, Samuel Smith, Stout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

