Young’s Double Chocolate Stout

Young’s Double Chocolate Stout (from Wells and Young’s Brewing Company in the UK) is a copycat and I don’t like it… ok… so it isn’t that big of a deal.  But really, they may call it “chocolate stout” but it tastes just like Murphy’s Stout or Guinness (not exactly this one, but the one with nitro).  I really couldn’t taste the flavor.  Now, no one has ever accused me of having a perfect palete or anything, but still… if it says chocolate on the label, I expect to taste chocolate.  Just like I had expected to taste honey in MacTarnahan’s Oregon Honey Beer.  I really hate being dissappointed.

Overall, if you put this next to Murphy’s or Guinness, you probably couldn’t tell the difference just by looking at them.  You probably could tell the difference in taste as I think Young’s is just ever so slightly ‘off’, but still not too bad.  Overall, pretty much par for the course.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

youngs-double-chocolate-sto.gif

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Stout, Wells and Young's and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Young’s Double Chocolate Stout

  1. Shea says:

    Strange. Maybe it’s the can. I definitely taste the chocolate in the bottled version – it makes the stout less bitter than Guiness imo. Still not the greatest stout in the world. I’d try the Brooklyn chocolate stout if you have the chance. Good stuff.

  2. dugpark says:

    I will have to give it another go-around for sure. Maybe you are right about the can. I will definitely try the Brooklyn Chocolate Stout if I come across it. I also have a bottle of the Rogue Chocolate Stout in the fridge that will have to be partaken of. 🙂

  3. Shea says:

    The Rogue is pretty good – very smooth and rich. The Brooklyn has more complexity and alcohol: a very heavy-duty imperial style beer, but one I love.

  4. I had the Young’s Choc Stout recently in bottle. You can read my ramblings here (The Beer Diary)

  5. Mike D (and I get respect) says:

    If you can’t taste the chocolate in this beer then I don’t know what to tell you. I don’t even have to search for it, it’s a very obvious taste. Love Young’s DCS! My fave beer! The can was definitely the way to go. The CO2 charge gives it that creamy flavor. If you don’t like it, you don’t like it and that’s fine but I’ve never known anyone that couldn’t taste that distinct chocolate flavor it has. Maybe you should try it again. And again and again….

  6. BossHogg says:

    Have only had this beer from the Young’s “Dial Arches” pub… and it was magical.

    A really beautiful, dark, sweet, rich, multidimensional beer with a definite chocolate hint.

    Maybe canning it wasn’t the best idea, and I’ve yet to try it bottled.
    But I can promise you, in its natural envionment, this beer absolutely trounces Guinness and Murphy’s.

Leave a Reply

