SkullSplitter Orkney Ale

Holy cow, the name’s no mistake – with one of my Viking forbears on the label and packing an 8.5%ABV punch this dark-brown ale is not for the fainthearted. It is, apparently, named after Thorfinn Hausakluif, the 7th Viking Earl of Orkney – who lived and ruled around 950 AD and went by the same charming name as this little bottle of beer. Beats Bluetooth, I suppose.

If he drank this all the time I’m not surprised he was a bloodthirsty brute, because he’d probably have had the world’s worst hangover. Like his Nordic horde, this brew comes across the sea, probably in a longboat, all the way to America where the fine people at Legends ship it out to sentimental Brits like me, suckers for a taste of our homeland…

SkullSplitter 

Anyway. Do I like it? It tastes pretty good at first, but halfway down the glass the sweetness and the overly-heavy alcohol presence started to put me off. So I rested for a while, and thought. This was a beer I really wanted to like, and I wasn’t doing it justice.

So, I pulled a leather armchair up by the log fire, slipped into a tweed suit, found my Calabash, and polished off the rest – and that made it go down a treat. Good wintery times in a glass. Enjoy.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

This entry was posted in Ale, Orkney Brewery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SkullSplitter Orkney Ale

  1. paul armstrong says:

    I like the beer and i like the name…not for the candy asses…incidenty i am decended from the earl of norththumberland, siward beorne, earl of dane law…long live the viking heritige and history…think I’ll go have an ice cold skull splitter…

Leave a Reply

