Russell Cream Ale

Day 2 of 3 in Whistler and my last night.  After a fine day of strategizing in a windowless conference room, we were ready to hit the town and we did it in style.  Dinner at Teppan Village and drinks at Citta’s again with a stop by some candy store for a quick fix along the way.  I had some Stella Artois at Teppan Village, took a picture with my phone, but the damn thing is now corrupt and I lost to the world, so I am going to cover my second Canada beer of the trip, Russell Cream Ale.

I was very excited to purchase the commemorative cup from Citta’s that came filled with a wonderful alcoholic beverage, but I was dissappointed when it touched my lips. 😦

While Russell Crem Ale claims to have won some Canadian beer award last year, it won’t be winning anything from me.  It was mediocre at best and left me feeling like I had just had a new mixed drink that was half amber and half water.  I really wanted to like this beer, too… it has a great name that speaks of smoothness and richness with enough flavor to count, but it falls way, way short of this.

JBB6 Rating: Just Not Right

russell-cream-ale-new.gif

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Ale, Russell Brewery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Russell Cream Ale

  1. R.B.L. says:

    This beer is simply the best beer I have ever tasted when served cold in a clean pint glass – do yourself a favour and try it again at another establishment just to compare. Heck, their five other beers are excellent as well.

  2. dugpark says:

    I am not so closed minded as to believe there were a combination of factors that led to my not liking this beer, so I will definitely take you up on the challenge and the next time I see this available I will have myself another… 🙂

  3. Charls says:

    I agree, this is one of the best beers. Has a great taste, mouth-feel and no after taste. Love it.

  4. dugpark says:

    I am getting out numbered…

  5. russel joe says:

    I love this beer, BUT something happened in the last couple of months, and I can no longer stomach it. Both the canned beer and on tap at the pub does not taste the same. That aftertaste is not longer there, and it tastes just like dugpark described it. Did the Russell brewing company change some ingredients???

    One thing for sure is that I will not buy it again, unless the original taste is back.

  6. Chris says:

    Russel Joe, I’m with you: something’s changed and the taste as I remember it is gone. I’ve written about it here in Russell Cream Ale RIP but basically the stuff I’m getting from the tap over the past few months has tasted watery and plain, with absolutely none of the full-mouth taste and pleasant lingering aftertaste. It’s sad when a beer dies so quietly.

  7. Creaminaler says:

    I love this beer. It was my hands-down favourite when I was living in Vancouver. But out of the taps, certainly hit and miss. It’s hard to believe it’s the same beer some times. I’ve had great pints at Mountain Shadow and Nevermind, and a particularly awful one at Zawa. Seems to change so much from keg to keg, so I don’t know that the bar has anything to do with it.
    Its always worth a try though. If its on, you’re a winner. If not, you’re only out five bucks.

Leave a Reply

