Sierra Nevada Bigfoot Barleywine

Rough day today.  Started out by sleeping in past work-out time which ultimately caused me to be driving during prime time driving time and right in the sites of a police man who gave me a ticket for speeding.  I can’t lie… I was speeding.  Very unfortunate as I have no tickets or accidents in WA state (except for this one, touch wood).  So, going to try to have it deferred and will see what happens.  Info on deferral is here if you are interested: King County Traffic Infraction Q&A.

So, started the day crappy and was really ready for a good beer tonight (especially since there wasn’t any in our all-afternoon meeting) grr…

Beer of choice, then: Sierra Nevada Bigfoot Barleywine.  Chosen because I needed the high alcohol content (9.6%) and because it is 1 of 3 that I have left in the fridge. 🙂

About the beer… well… it was ok.  The first thing I noticed was a very busy pour with a small head.  Plenty of carbonation, but you can just see that it has more alcohol in it.  Second thing was the strong, pungent smell that had me thinking IPA.  Which it ended up tasting like, as well.  Very much like a super-strong, very hoppy IPA that has been pumped up (like Hans and Franz!).  Overall a bit strong for my taste, although, I might be of a different mind if I were to be having it with cheese or chocolate as the website suggests instead of french dip and corn…

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

sierra-nevada-bigfoot-barle.gif

Note to self… this is review #94.

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Barleywine, Sierra Nevada and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

