JustBeer: A simple beer blog…

Beer info from normal dudes…

Budweiser Chelada

Posted by dugpark on April 10, 2008

Budweiser Chelada… specifically the one with Clamato.  This one has been sitting in my fridge since at least 3/9.  I have been dreading opening it… a little bit due to the large number of Caesar cocktails I had in Whistler just before this time, and little because I had a sneaking suspicion that I wouldn’t like it… well… I was right.  Two words = Nas ty.  I think it has a little bit to do with the smell… if I held my nose and went in, the taste was bad… if I took a whiff before the drink then I had a hard time swallowing it.  I ended up even trying to put a little green Tabasco in there, but that didn’t really do any good.  Overall, the red color was disturbing, the smell was horrific, and the taste wasn’t good.  

I have no recommendations on this one… never again.

As an FYI… I was talking with Mauld at work today and he had some good experiences with cerveza preparada or chelada style beer in Mexico recently.  I have to agree that it sounds good that way… this just doesn’t do the trick, folks.

JBB6 Rating: Not Even for Free

8 Responses to “Budweiser Chelada”

  1. Krystal said

    Love this beer. Chelada is something we have needed to spice up beer with more flavor. It is balanced just right and easily drinkable. After mixing my own for several years it is nice to be able to just pop the top and drink.

  2. dugpark said

    To each his/her own, right! :) I figure some folks out there must like it or they wouldn’t sell it anymore. Enjoy!

  3. tamieko said

    TO each his own i guess, you did not like it but omg i think it is fantastic! i have been drinking clamato for years and mixing tomato juice with beer forever, so this combo has my vote 1000 percent. i also love the bud light chelada w/ just lime reminds me of corona w/lime but cheaper. if you like tomato juice you’ll love this beer

  4. dugpark said

    Sorry… I just couldn’t stomach this one. I tell you what, though… I will try a red beer in the future… maybe not this one, but another kind and hopefuly just with tomatoe, not clamatoe… maybe I just need to ease into it or something… :)

  5. lu said

    To each their own. It is an acquired taste. If you love clamato and /or tomato juice or V8 you will love this. I personally LOVE the taste, the flavor is great.

  6. dugpark said

    Glad you like it Lu. You can drink enough for the both of us, then, if you want… :) LOL

  7. Mike said

    Oh man do I love this stuff. It’s my Sunday morning brunch beer. Steak, eggs, and avocado—all smothered in salsa, with a Chelada. I squeeze a quarter of a lime into mine, add some habanero hot sauce, and drink it over ice from a salt rimmed glass. I’m telling you, it’s awesome. I sometimes make my own with Clamato and Tecate. You can use a good Bloody Mary mix but they’re so thick you need to use a lot more beer to thin it out. Bud’s is better. Surprising.

  8. Bryce said

    Budwieser Chelada is one of the greatest mixed beers to come along in a while. They did a great job with this one it’s a wonderful mix- I’m drinking them all the time now. They are becoming very popular in the southwest where people have been doing this forever.

    I don’t think the blogstarter gave this one it’s due.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

