New Belgium 1554 Enlightened Black Ale

Ode to New Belgium 1554 Enlightened Black Ale

Eh-hmm-hmm…

  • Twas late in the eve when I opened the brew
  • The bottle cap hissed in anticipation
  • With that sound a long day I bid adieu
  • I hoped New Belgium would bring salvation
  • The elixir was poured with muddy head
  • I breathed in deep a smell so devine
  • To my lips came the glass in slow motion
  • I took a long drink a taste of dark bread
  • A wonderful flavor so full and refined
  • New Belgium created a mighty potion

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Ale, New Belgium and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Belgium 1554 Enlightened Black Ale

  1. chipperdave says:

    I prefer the 1554 over Fat Tire. The 1554 has a much richer and smoother taste. It’s on my favorite list.

  2. dugpark says:

    I was very surprised… I hadn’t seen this one before, but I tend to agree that this one is one of their best. The owner of Malt & Vine in Redmond, WA also mentioned it as an outstanding dark beer.

  3. pyruvi says:

    Absolutely fantastic Black Ale. extremely smooth with just the right bite on the finish.

  4. dugpark says:

    Thank you! I tend to agree and am very happy that this is included in their Folly Pack (I am on number 3 for the summer 🙂 ).

  5. Ike Moore says:

    where can you buy Belguim black ale, Zot, or Trappist Ale in South Jersey ?

  6. dugpark says:

    Ike, I wish I had more time to hunt this down for you, but see below for email, phone, and mail address. If you give them a call at their toll free number, I bet they can let you know if it is available in your area. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

    For the online saavy: nbb@newbelgium.com

    Those needing human contact: 1-888-NBB-4044 or locally at 970-221-0524

    Or send photos, postcards, hand-crafted letters and homemade cookies to:

    New Belgium Brewing Company
    500 Linden Fort Collins, Colorado 80524 USA

    Doug

Leave a Reply

