Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

Feeling a little portly myself, what could be better than a cheeky bottle of Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout to set the world to rights after a somewhat turbulent day? Out of the fridge, into a pint glass – looking good already, with a deep inky blackness and a thick burnt-cream head that bodes well for this drink’s immediate future. Smell’s good, too.

Fortunately, these initial impressions are on the nail. One first tentative, experimental sip turns rapidly into a mighty quaff, for this is a beer you can really get your teeth into; a full-on mouthful of slightly earthy, peaty goodness that follows through with some hints of burnt things. Wood maybe, I dunno. Even better – as well as tasting great, it’s 9% ABV. By the end of the pint, I’m feeling surprisingly happy for a Tuesday evening.

Knocked up by my new friends at the North Coast Brewing Co out of Fort Bragg, CA, this is a good-to-great find that I’ll be keeping on my “buy again” list for the forseeable future. And even better – I’m heading that way on a summer road-trip soon, so I might just stop in and say hello to them… good times ahead.

Not quite sure why old Rasputin is about to make the universal sign for “Loser” on the label though – North Coast people, you might want to revisit your art. Keep the beer as it is, please.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

Old Rasputin

This entry was posted in North Coast Brewing Company, Stout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

  1. chipperdave says:

    That guy on the label is actually starting to give his “blessing” to this beer. This is also a repeat buy for me. You seem to have similar tastes in beer that I do. The last 3 beers you’ve reviewed are ones that I’ve recently enjoyed as well. Salute!

  2. frank strycharsk says:

    Great beer, like to have 1 or 2 after dinner. Like a dessert !!!

  3. more beer says:

    You guys live west of the Rockies and I am wondering if North Coast still makes Red Seal beer. I can’t find it anywhere here. It is one of my favorite American small brewery beers. It might be found in one of those beers of the world cases where you get 24 different brews from around the world.

Leave a Reply

