Avery White Rascal

Today was a good day.  A good day on many, many beer fronts.  I woke up this morning, not really knowing what to expect from the weather, the kids, etc.  I end the day with a shit-eating-grin on my face and a vision of a great beer future ahead.

Lets hit the good stuff summary:

  1. I went to Malt & Vine in Redmond, WA today.  More on that in a second.
  2. I picked up a bottle of beer my boss has been hounding me about for some time (…you know who you are!)
  3. I finally took up enough space in our refrigerator to push the wife into commanding me to buy a beer fridge.

And now the good stuff details:

  1. Malt & Vine… an amazing establishment.  Truly.  They have ~900 beers in the bottle, some wine that I didn’t pay attention to, and a couple of kegs.  Not only do you get to buy beer, beer, and more beer, but you can enjoy a small glass of some really good craft beer while you do it!  The owner was super-knowledgable, the beer he gave me was and outstanding dark Belgium Style beer, and their selection… oh their selection.  See below for a picture of what I picked up and what lead to #3.
  2. The actual beer for this review is Avery White Rascal.  My boss has been telling me about Avery since we started the blog (not sure which brew) and now I finally found some.  So I picked up the White Rascal and their IPA to see what I could taste and low and behold their White Rascal is an outstanding white ale.  I would have to say that their complexity of flavors mellows it out to just the right level to make this beer really, really outstanding.  Has to be my favorite white for now.  Will see how long that lasts.  I poured the glass, left a little in the bottom of the bottle, swirled it around, and poured the last of the cloudiness into the mug before I took my first taste.  Pure nirvana… great work by Avery.
  3. As I came home tonight with 8 extra bottles of beer, my wife finally had it and ordered me to get a beer fridge so she could have room in the house fridge for something called food.  Boy… you don’t have to tell me twice.  Dinner, kids in bed, and I was off to Lowes to find my sweet little beverage holder.  Little is right… there are some really small fridges out there, kind of like what I have at work… but I decided on a 14 cubic foot model instead.  $400 isn’t too bad and now we have more room for other stuff like kids drinks, etc. as well.   All around a win-win for everyone.

So there you have it… a great beer-day.  As far as the rating on this beer:

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

Two pictures today… my haul from Malt & Vine:

And the bottle of Avery:

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Avery Brewing, White Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avery White Rascal

  1. vinicultured says:

    I’m glad to see there’s another lover of White Rascal out there on the Internet. I wrote about my experience with the beer on my blog:

    http://vinicultured.com/2008/02/10/chillin-with-albarino-in-silver-lake-or-how-getting-lost-on-the-way-to-intelligentsia-coffee-prevented-jonathan-from-being-mugged/

    Great blog on beer! Beer and wine go hand in hand. I will definitely keep an eye out on your blog for my future beer purchases.

    Joon S.
    http://vinicultured.com

  2. dugpark says:

    Great blog on wine back at ya! 🙂 I am a bit of a wine fan… some great wines coming out of WA these days (Walla Walla is fun to visit, as well). We will keep an eye on each other’s blogs, it seems.

Leave a Reply

