Redhook Copperhook Spring Ale

Last night was a fun night.  After a wonderful high class dinner at TacoTime, we came home to snow showers and our neighbors having a Hawaiian dance party.  Good thing about our neighbors is they always have a well stocked beer fridge with plenty of beer to go around.  Great thing about last night was that they had some outstanding beer, including two I have never had before.  Thanks guys!

Amongst the Drop Top and W’08Redhook Copperhook Spring Ale poked its shiny head out at me.  I eagerly took this spring seasonal for a round after procuring a good sized mug from our hosts.  Good thing I did as this beer hit the spot and turned the night into a very welcome Friday night.  Of course I had already started it out right at work, but indeed I did want to continue the trend.

Copperhook is a clean, refreshing spring ale with just the right mix of citrus, spice, hops, and malt.  A light colored beer with medium head, this beer is really meant to be enjoyed on a warmer spring night out on the front porch while the kids play in the cul-de-sac, but I will take what I can get.  A great spring seasonal that will surely make it back into my fridge in the near future.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

A year later and oh how my tastes (and photography) have changed… here is my review that I wrote before I realized this beer was already on the blog… 🙂

Amidst the snow and cold and nasty snow mold that has infected our yard, came a bright spot for the weekend… spring beer!  Just closing my eyes and thinking about it takes me to a happier place.  Don’t get me wrong, I have loved the winter beer season and the snow and cold and rain have been exciting, but now it is time to move on… on to sunny days, flowers, budding trees, and new season spring ales.

Redhook Copperhook just so happens to be that beer that made me happy for the day and I just wish it matched my exuberance for the turning of the seasons in its taste…

Copperhook pours an orangy coppery hue with a wee head and a mild nose.  The brew itself is super mild with light hops dancing in the background but not really making a main stream appearance.  The sweetness of this one isn’t bad, but maybe a little overboard for my full liking.  The non-existent finish keeps the experience short and succinct and moves you on to the next drink very quickly.  Overall at 5.7% ABV, this mild beer makes for an easy drink but for my taste, it isn’t a stand out.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

red-hook-copper-hook

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Redhook, Spring Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

