Oskar Blues Ten FIDY Imperial Stout

I learned something today.  I learned a good deal, in fact, thanks to the folks at Oskar Blues Brewery.  They have an outstanding thing going and I am psyched I went to Malt and Vine again today to pick up some new beer.

So, we headed down this afternoon (my neighbor and I) since I had been talking so much about my visit last weekend.  Dave is a fan of beer and I took him a bottle of the Snoqualmie Spring Fever and he liked that, so I thought it was time to get some more of the good stuff.  When we got there, we each bought a round of their tap beers (check their website for their selection) and tasted as we wandered around.  Let me tell you that it has to be one of the best and smartest things they could have done… tasting beer and shopping for it at the same time is an amazingly wonderful experience. 🙂  Anyhow, one of their tapbeers is Oskar Blues Ten FIDY Imperial Stout.  We both really liked it (more on that later), so I picked up a can (wtf?) and we headed home.

As we were getting ready for dinner, I figured I would test out the canned beer that I had so enjoyed on tap, pouring it into my new Duvel glass (only $5!).  Let me tell you, this has to be one of the darkest beers I have ever seen… and coming out of a can was a trip and a half.  The dark brown (almost black) liquid on the aluminum made it seem just a touch above molasses.  Good sandy brown head, dark and about 1/2 an inch thick in the glass.  The taste… the taste was nearly identical to the tap… it may have even been identical.  Dark, roasted barley, hints of subtle smoke, and chocolate oatmeal graced my tastebuds.  As I was drinking it, though, one word kept coming to mind… soft.  If beer can be soft, Ten FIDY is that beer.  Soft on the tongue and throat… easy to drink.  A great stout, probably one of the best.  I thank Malt and Vine for introducing me and Oskar Blues for showing me that canned beer can compete and exceed.  Check out their video for more on that… it is good stuff.

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Imperial Stout, Oskar Blues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oskar Blues Ten FIDY Imperial Stout

  1. ChipperDave says:

    That Ten Fidy is good beer! I’m going to age some (if that’s possible in a can) to see how it changes over time.

  2. dugpark says:

    That’s it… second beer that someone has mentioned aging. Next purchase is going to have to be an aging fridge for my beer appliance collection. 🙂

  3. mauld says:

    Looking forward to trying this beer.

    Explain this aging thing. If we’re talking like a bottle of wine I understand, although applying that same process to a “can of beer” seems strange somehow.

  4. dugpark says:

    Good little article here: http://www.seattleweekly.com/2008-01-23/food/do-you-have-the-patience-to-age-your-beers.php

    Pretty much says it all… I haven’t done this yet, but I have a limited edition Allagash that I am thinking about… http://www.allagash.com/odyssey.htm.

Leave a Reply

