Wells Banana Bread Beer

It has been a long day today… really quite interestingly long.  For that, I needed a good beer, but one that was a little different… something to transition the day into the weekend.  So, I took the one beer that I have thought about almost every visit to the fridge, but haven’t actually tried, Wells Banana Bread Beer.

I have been very intrigued by this beer, wondering if they were able to really pull off a banana flavored beer that would leave me wanting more… I am sad to say that isn’t the case.  😦  While Wells Banana Bread Beer isn’t a bad beer, it definitely didn’t live up to my expectations and I am pretty sure I won’t ever buy it again.

I poured the copper colored beverage into a standard pint glass at about 40 degrees tonight, taking my first sip and immediately regretting having tasted it so cold.  All I could really taste were the bitter hops.  I could smell the banana and it smelled pretty damn good, actually, but that is about as far as it made it.  I let it warm up to ~50 degrees and took another sip.  Better this time, I could faintly taste the banana in there, but then the overly-powerful hops hit me immediately after and my taste buds had a sensory overload. 

Wells Banana Bread Beer suffers from trying to hard… if they would have let the banana be banana and dialed down the hops, maybe a bit more malt, this beer could have had an earthy roastedness that brought in the subtle hint of banana, but instead, my mouth is confused and doesn’t want to drink it anymore.  Of course I will finish it, but won’t venture down this path again.

JBB6 Rating: Just Not Right

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Ale, Wells and Young's and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wells Banana Bread Beer

  1. fastmoneydan says:

    wondering where you found the beer. i think it is decent and have told some friends about it. i live in oregon wonder if you are still seeing it stores near you and what stores iit might be. thanks

  2. dugpark says:

    Hey there… we found this one at the Malt & Vine Beer and Wine store in Redmond, WA. If you live close to Portland, you might try Belmont Station: http://www.belmont-station.com/. Good luck and let us know if you find it!

    Dug

  3. Sam says:

    I have one right now! I got this at Whole Foods and was surprised it even existed :p He’s right though it’s not very good 😦 I like bananas but this tastes just like he says it does. My fav beer is Fat Tire Ale and New Castle and Bass. Otherwise this just can’t live up to it.

    I highly support Fat Tire Ale it’s simply amazing

  4. Dave M says:

    I just bought a bottle of this stuff at my nearest Whole Foods store. I had seen several postings of the bottle online but never bothered to read a review. Upon buying it I read the label up and down to see if this was brewed with lager or al yeast. (After drinking, I suspect they use an ale yeast.) When I first opened it I could immediately smell the scent of banana emanating from the bottle. At first the smell was very powerful but died down once I poured it. I think the beer tastes pretty good but like the others, I’d never buy it again. I consider it a unique experience and am proud to have had it. I’d like to think that banana and beer could be natural companions but perhaps that isn’t the case. In all its a lot better than your average domestic Budweiser. I give this beer a 3/5.

Leave a Reply

