Eye of the Hawk Select Ale

Another bottle – well, actually six – from the Mendocino Brewing Company, and each and every one of them has poured a beautiful golden-amber pint with an eddy of enticing bubbles and an invitingly creamy, rich head. I may as well tell you now, I really rate this beer high. And I’m sure it’s not just because I’ve drunk four of them in a row… well, fairly sure. That might have something to do with it, of course…

Anyway. Eye of the Hawk is, according to it’s neck wrap, a firm favourite at the Great British Beer Festival. Can’t say I recall seeing it there, but I’ve grown to appreciate it’s up-front approach to delivering a robust, sweet and malty blast of ale. Like the alcohol content, the aroma’s strong and up-front, the colour’s rich and promising, and the beer itself tastes complex, ripe, and strong. Malt,

This is clearly a beer for the enthusiast, for someone who appreciates a finely brewed drop, and one I’ll heartily recommend over pretty much anything I’ve drunk so far on this year. Good stuff.

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

This entry was posted in Ale, Mendocino Brewing Company and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eye of the Hawk Select Ale

  1. vinicultured says:

    Great post, Doug! I’ve spied the Eye of the Hawk at Trader Joe’s but didn’t want to commit to a beer I wouldn’t end up enjoying. I DO really enjoy Red Tail Ale, so it wouldn’t be a far leap to infer that Eye of the Hawk would also be good. I think I’ll pick it up this weekend!

    Joon S.
    http://vinicultured.com

  2. Po says:

    Well, I am Po not Doug but I hope you’ll enjoy it all the same – I hope even more I can find some of this to buy when I’m back in Washington, too, because I neglected to buy any to bring back from Cali with me. How foolish! Anyway, let me know if you like it 🙂

  3. vinicultured says:

    I actually picked up a six pack of this beer the other day: this was delicious! Zingy hops and sweet, mellow malts combined for a smooth, refreshing beer.

    Good choice, Doug and Po!

    Joon S.
    http://vinicultured.com

Leave a Reply

