Santa Cruz Ale Works IPA

This Santa Cruz Ale Works IPA is not quite like any kind of IPA I’ve had before, and as I’m drinking it, I’m not sure whether that’s a good thing or not. Out of the bomber it delivers a reasonably handsome pint, perhaps a little lighter in hue than one would expect, but nothing too unusual so far. Raising the glass though comes with a bit of a surprise – this is very fruity indeed, with a strong citric tang that brings grapefruits to mind. Oranges, coriander too?

Lively carbonation and a decent head makes it refreshing on the tongue, and it does taste OK with a pretty hight level of hoppiness. But there’s not quite enough malten bite to carry it through. While there’s some peppery undertones going on that means this might pair up quite nicely with some Thai food or something, I’m not a fan of it as a session brew.

My big problem with this beer is that it really doesn’t taste like I think an IPA should. Not even particularly close. Maybe I’m more of a traditionalist than I thought, but this just didn’t do it for me. Not bad by any means, but not the beer I was looking for.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

This entry was posted in Ale, IPA, Santa Cruz Ale Works and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

