Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA

After the dissappointing showing from Dick’s Best Bitter, Brent decided to share some of the fruits of his last trip to Malt & Vine.  Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA came in a 4 pack and I thought I had one in my fridge (I did… so drank that one too). 

Last time I ran into a Dofish Head IPA, it was the Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA and I didn’t really review it that favorably.  This time, their extra 30 minutes bought them a bit more. 🙂 

I think I had false expectations going into this beer, to be honest.  I had my hopes up, thinking this would be a standard super-hoppy IPA.  I was very, very wrong.  I would venture to say that this IPA is anything but standard and may actually be a barleywine in IPA clothing… just like the wolf in the sheep’s clothing, I tell you. 

The 90 Minute IPA is a very complex brew.  It pours a perfect IPA head, is a perfect IPA color, has a very hoppy nose to it and a very hoppy body… at first.  Then you swallow the brew and find out that it has one of the strongest finishes you have potentially ever had in an IPA.  That is where the barleywine flavor comes in and stays with you.  As the label states, there is a “ridiculous amount of English Two-row Barley” which is where this has to come from.

Overall a very good beer if you are in the mood for strong and complex… which probably isn’t every day. 🙂

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Dogfish Head Brewery, IPA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA

  1. rob says:

    I agree. I just had this beer and felt inspired to find more info about it. There’s so much hops in it, it gives it a marijuana taste to it… very good beer

  2. Barbara says:

    Very good IPA and now looking at the menu it is the same one they serve at the Yard House. I will have to try the 60 minute. Glad I bought the 90 minute this time. Didn’t catch the marijuana taste though 😉 If you guys are ever in Redlands, CA (Socal area) make sure you visit Hanger 24 Craft Brewery. They serve a great double IPA.

    Barbara

Leave a Reply

