Dogfish Head Raison D’Etre

Another Dogfish Head brew on the blog tonight, Dogfish Head Raison D’Etre.  This one has been sitting in my fridge for a long time and Po has had a draft review on the site for just as long or longer but tonight I decided to bite the bullet.  Po, please forgive me, but you created the draft on 3/3/08… that should be plenty of time to write the review… 🙂

As I sit here drinking this fine brew, I can’t help but feel the warmth in my tummy from this 8% ABV beer and think about how this has to be one of the smoothest high ABV beers I have ever tasted.  Everything about this beer is subtly complex.  If you smell it, you get a hint of malt and a sense of earthiness.  The color is a dark amber brown that looks almost like wine if it weren’t for the persistent head floating on top.  The first taste is only slightly tingly on the tongue and then it fills your mouth with a pleasant calmness that leaves you with the most complexity of the experience… the finish brings about malt, grapes, and a hint of yeast that keeps you wanting for more.

Overall a really good experience withh this beer.  I would definitely buy it again and for the uniqueness, it gets a for the win!

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Belgian Style, Dogfish Head Brewery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dogfish Head Raison D’Etre

  1. nate says:

    Hey, Stumbled across this via a google search to see that others thought of this beer.
    Interesting rating system…I would concur…almost top of the scale. I drank my last one last night and woke up with the sweet aftertaste in my mouth…and then had to brush my teeth.

  2. dugpark says:

    Thanks Nate! Looks like you are off on some beer blogging adventures yourself and we wish you luck. This is a great beer and may be worthy of Hall of Fame status… Po and I have to get off our lazy keisters, though, and decide on which ones we move up. Thanks for reading.

    Doug

  3. Mike Pearce says:

    To the average beer drinker that picks this up it will be like playing slow pitch softball on a Sunday afternoon when a drunk (and pist)Randy Johnson shows up…a whole lot more than you bargained for.

  4. hopkaiser says:

    Hi, while I am a huge fan of Dogfish Head, this is perhaps the least favorite of their offerings. The sweetness of it is off-putting and takes on a chemical taste after a bit.

Leave a Reply

