Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale

I really do like a good fall/autumn beer.  I am sure that as we get closer to the fall/autumn, we will have plenty of choices in this genre, as well.  This, while being a choice, has some serious issues, though, that I hope the others don’t share. 

I had high hopes for Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale heading in.  The bottle looks cool and it just sounds good.  I was being very optimistic, if I do say so myself.  My hopes were dashed, though, when I opened the bottle and didn’t smell any pumpkin… they were dashed again, when I took a first sip and didn’t taste any pumpkin… they were dashed a 3rd time (strike three) when the beer didn’t even taste good.  Bad, bad, bad Blue Moon… shame on you for dissappointing me so.

The beer has a smallish head, a good amber (almost orange) hue, a strong beer nose, a light and tangy taste, and an abismal finish.  Overall, a very, very mediocre beer.  Brent was tasting with me last night, I made him do it… he couldn’t finish it.  If that tells you anything about the beer or Brent…  sorry Brent. 🙂

**UPDATE** For more… and better… pumpkin ales, try here: https://justbeer.wordpress.com/category/pumpkin-ale/

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Blue Moon Brewing Company, Pumpkin Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale

  1. Ben Kessler says:

    What do you expect from a Miller-Coors beer? Pumpkin? All about the Dogfish Head Punkin’ Ale!

  2. dugpark says:

    Ah… does it truly taste like Pumpkin? If so, I am there! I really need a good pumpkin ale for this fall…

  3. Atomic Rooster says:

    If you want an ale that has pumpkin flavor, I like Shipyard Brewing Co.’s “Pumpkinhead Ale”. The pumpkin flavor is not over powering, but it is definitely there.

  4. dugpark says:

    I am going to go on a pumpkin beer search this fall, I think. Will definitely keep an eye out for that one! Thanks for reading.

  5. coffii says:

    Tastes like pumpkin the squash not pumpkin pie. i had a similar experience.

  6. dugpark says:

    LOL… good call on the taste recognition. Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the recognition in using our picture. 🙂

  7. Ashley says:

    “If you want an ale that has pumpkin flavor, I like Shipyard Brewing Co.’s “Pumpkinhead Ale”. The pumpkin flavor is not over powering, but it is definitely there.”

    I had Shipyard Pumpkin Ale when I was visiting family in New Hampshire and it was amazing! I fell in love with it. I came back to where I live in Virginia and cannot find it anywhere! Does anyone know where I can get it???

  8. Pingback: Oh! I Love the one with the puffy eyes! « Flooding Susie’s Inbox

Leave a Reply

