Deschutes Obsidian Stout

The Deschutes Obsidian Stout page on the web pretty much sums it up (with a few exceptions).  A bit dry for my liking, this was one of my favorite beers back in college.  I came upon this at about the same time I was drinking as much Squatters Captain Bastard’s Oatmeal Stout as I could.  That one didn’t go over so well when we were back in Utah… this one didn’t go over so well just now.  My oh my how my tastes have changed over the years.

Dark and foreboding, this one tastes rough, drinks rough, but lacks the complexity that their website notes.  It is pretty much dark roasted malt and bitterness all rolled up into a little 12 oz bottle.  The neighborhood agreed… we will be leaving this one at the store next time.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Deschutes, Stout and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

