Deschutes Black Butte Porter

Deschutes makes good beer… they really do.  Deschutes Black Butte Porter is no exception to that and the neighbors agree!  Every one of us could taste the chocolate and the roasted malt goodness and made quick work of what we had. 

The beer is dark, has a bit of a hard edge, but pulls it all off with the complexity of the body and finish.  Some of the porters we have had recently have been a bit creamier… they are softer as you drink… not really so for Black Butte Porter and I am ok with that.

Good frothy tan head, dark chocolaty malty body, complex and rich finish.  Black Butte Porter comes through.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Deschutes, Porter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deschutes Black Butte Porter

  1. Chipper Dave says:

    I had the opportunity to enjoy this fine porter on tap at an Old Chicago’s near Denver about a week ago. When I heard the name Black Butte it reminded me of the Black Butte XX that I’ve got aging in my basement. If the XX is any better than the regular Black Butte then I’m in for a treat for sure when I pop it open in a few months! I’d drink this brew again also. I love the fact that it’s getting colder outside and it’s darker brew season once again.

  2. dugpark says:

    Ah… Po and I were talking about how we have been really bringing in the dark beers. It is a nice change and something that I think is almost subconscious… I am just drawn to them right now. 🙂

    Thanks for the read and comment!

  3. Browncoat says:

    I discovered Black Butte while working in Anchorage. When I decided to return to Louisiana, I was saddened by the fact that Colorado was the closest place to get it, according to the brewery. But recently, on a business trip to Houston, I visited the Spec’s website looking to see if they might have Alaskan Amber. They didn’t… but they did have Black Butte! I called the nearest store on Westheimer and they had just received their first shipment the week before. I liberated three cases for myself and to bless those around me I deem worthy (which is just about anyone who likes beer). As one bartender and I discussed, draught is noticeably better but not so much with Black Butte as with others. Did get a chance to try a Black Butte XX draft up there as well, but I’m afraid that was a tad too much for me. As was the Obsidian Stout. Whew!!!

Leave a Reply

