St. Peter’s Cream Stout

Not sure what to think on this one, to be honest.  I decided to stay on the dark beer path tonight and opened this bottle that has been in the fridge for a couple of months… happily waiting until it was its turn to head down my gullet.

I have to admit, St. Peter’s Cream Stout hit me wrong right off the bat.  I pour into my mug revealed what smelled like old paint or deck stain.  Funny enough, my wife actually says it smells good… I think the fact that she spent time staining the fence today has gone to her head, but that is neither here nor there. 🙂

Either way, I gave it a go on the taste and breathed a sigh of relief as I realized that it didn’t taste like paint or stain.  Instead, you can definitely taste the roasted malts and while there is not a complex aftertaste, it isn’t bad.  As I sit here and drink it, it warms up a bit and starts to smell more like it should.  Roasted malt and a hint of hops start to emerge and the taste brings out a little more complexity in the body.  Ah… but where is the cream, you may ask… it isn’t… it just isn’t there.  Creamless in Seattle, I am afraid.

Overall, not a bad beer but in the land of great stouts and porters, this one definitely doesn’t stand out.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Cream Stout, St. Peter's, Stout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

