Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

My first in a 3 night series of pumpkin ale reviews just so happens to be Dogfish Head Punkin Ale.  I have Brent, aka “The Belly”, to thank for hooking me up.  He stopped by Malt & Vine the other day and picked up a 4 pack and was kind enough to share one with me.  Thanks Brent!

First, my expectations: 

  1. You can smell pumpkin
  2. You can taste pumpkin
  3. The beer tastes good

Pretty simple, really, but how easy it is to screw it up… take the Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale for instance… just plain bad.  Anyhow, on to the review…

My experience with Dogfish Head has been somewhat varied.  I tend to either really like it or really not think it is that great.  So going into this one, I had mixed emotions.  I soon found out that this would prove my bipartisan view of them and give me a somewhat middle ground… I like the beer just enough. 

Pours a very nice shade of golden orange with a small head and lots of bubbles.  The nose smells, ever so slightly of pumpkin… really had to strain to smell it, but it was there.  The taste… again, ever so slightly of pumpkin, really had to strain to taste it, but it was there… the finish was mildely complex, making me think more of spices and the fall weather than the pumpkin itself.

All in all, a good drink… I would by it again… but not for the pumpkin… just for the good tasting seasonal ale.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

 

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Dogfish Head Brewery, Pumpkin Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

  1. Deano says:

    Yeah I agree the pumpkin on this beer was very lacking for me…it was a good seasonal but I scored it lower because it states to be a pumpkin ale and the pumpkin just isn’t there.

  2. dugpark says:

    People swear by this one, too… ah well, to each their own.

  3. I really enjoyed this, but am excited to try the others that you mentioned. http://wifeofabeergeek.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/a-brew-a-day/

Leave a Reply

