Deschutes The Dissident

Carrying over from the other night is a beer that I will remember for quite some time.  Deschutes The Dissident has to be one of the most unique beers I have tasted in a long time.  I find it similar to the first time I tasted the Monk’s Café Flemish Sour Ale.  You just can’t prepare yourself for it and so the first couple of tastes almost make your eyes cross.

A dark pour, with a bit of a red tint, this one is not for the week of heart.  If you like barley wine and you like flemish sour ale, then you will probably like this one as it is nearly a perfect mix.  It offers a very sour/tart taste and finish but has some sweetness just offsetting it.

I don’t quite know where to go with this one, though.  I like the flemish sour and I like a good barley wine, but this one is just really hard to put a finger on.  I am going to have to go with Middle of the Road for now since the only reason I would buy this again, really, is to give it one more chance… because I know I want to like it… really…

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Brown Ale, Deschutes, Sour Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

