Stone Bitter Chocolate Oatmeal Stout

Check out the site they have for this beer: Stone Bitter Chocolate Oatmeal Stout.  I love the picture of the bottle, the glass, and the pour.  Really great photography and just an outstanding web page to show off the beer. 

As far as the beer itself, though, I think the website out does it a bit.  This beer was tasted by “The Belly” and Katrina and neither of them liked it at all.  Some even had to be poured out, which is a shame.  I made my way through mine and it grew on me as it warmed up, but at the end of it, this one had a few things wrong that would keep me from buying it again.  Primarily the aftertaste… As I have found with several other oatmeal stouts, this one had a bit of a chemical taste to it… similar to what I had with the Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout.  Other than that, the color and head were great.  Very, very dark as the site notes and shows.  The other interesting aspect was the nose, which was strong and smelled of roasted malt and chocolate. 

In the end, this one didn’t come through for me.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Oatmeal Stout, Stone, Stout and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

