Spaten Oktoberfest

According to the Spaten website, Spaten Oktoberfest is the first Oktoberfest beer in the world, started in 1872.  I don’t have any reason to think they are lying with us, so lets run with it.

I bought the world’s first oktoberfest beer in a 24 pack at Costco for ~$20.  I figured you can’t go wrong at a price like that.  While not dissapointed, I wasn’t wowed by the world’s first oktoberfest, and I won’t be purchasing it again.

You see, this is a lager… a dark lager that smells a lot like a strong lager.  The lager smell I get, though, isn’t German beer goodness… it smells more like American Lager… I will probably piss someone off with that statement, but that is what I get.  Most of the cul-de-sac agreed… this wasn’t the best beer in the world, even if it was the world’s first oktoberfest.  All in all the most notable thing about this beer was the somewhat satisfying, slightly bitter finish that left itself on the roof of my mouth after each drink.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Oktoberfest, Spaten and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

