Michelob Winter’s Bourbon Cask Ale

I was on a macro-brew-trying-to-be-a-craft-brew kick the other day and saw this in the store and figured I had to try it.  I tried this the same night as the Budweiser American Ale and some to-be-blogged Full Moon Winter Ale.  I have to say that Michelob Winter’s Bourbon Cask Ale might have been my favorite of the bunch and about the only one I would actually buy again… which surprised the hell out of me, to be honest.

Most surprising is the fact that the “hint of vanilla” actually doesn’t suck.  You usually get that really artificial vanilla taste when you get stuff with a “hint” but this one actually pulls it off.  It is sweet but balanced and very drinkable. 

From start to finish: no nose>small head>sweet body>short finish. 

Of note is the fact that the bottle says “aged on bourbon oak casks”… not in… “on”.  So that is a bit of smoke and mirrors, but what can you do… it still tastes good. 🙂  **Update** this is actually pretty common to either reinvigorate the oak flavor in oak barrels or just to add oak flavor into a brew.  More commonly called aging on oak staves.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

michelob-winters-bourbon-ca

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Anheuser-Busch, Winter Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Michelob Winter’s Bourbon Cask Ale

  1. Chipper Dave says:

    I’m half tempted to try this beer. Wonder if I can find it on tap somewhere first.

  2. dugpark says:

    I would be very interested to see what this is like on tap… let us know if you find some and what the verdict is. 🙂

  3. Allen says:

    I just had this on tap today. Quite a head to begin with, but it was gone quickly. Fantastic flavor. The vanilla was quite a surprise. I’d definitely drink it again.

  4. AJC says:

    I agree with you. I have to say this is probably the best beer I’ve tried this winter. Really smooth, unique taste perfect for cold nights. I bought the last 6-pack at the local store, now I have to go and try and find another source since they said they will not be getting any more in.

  5. With our beer dispense equipment any one can dispense and serve both Cask or Real Ale and or Keg Beer.Many licensees are discouraged from offering cask beer since they are afraid they will not be able to keep it but with modern automatic stillages and the amazing Race Cask Ventilator which doubles the shelf life of a cask the all pubs and hotels should be able to serve good cask Ale.

  6. Boomer says:

    I first at this out at bar last week. We (me, my wife and a friend) all enjoyed the beer, very nice with good flavors. I went looking for it toady and was able to grab 2 6-packs. It wasn’t until the wife and I were drinking it did we realize it was made by Michelob. For a mass production beer they seemed to have done something right here.

    • dugpark says:

      I agree… this is right up there as far as approachable winter beers go. It isn’t in the realm of some of the more complex craft brews but it is pretty darn solid. Thanks for reading!

  7. Dave says:

    Very smooth brew. A convenience store here had it on special for $3.99/6Pk or $12.00/case – Not a misprint! I bought all 7 cases for that price. I have only 2 6pks left.
    I will definitely buy this brew again if/when it becomes available!

  8. FRYINGBALLZ says:

    Michelob’s “Winter’s Bourbon Cask Ale”, is right up there this 2011 with Fat Tire’s “2 Degrees Below” for me this 2010-2011 winter.

Leave a Reply

