Avery Old Jubilation Ale

Generally a big fan of Avery, Avery Old Jubilation Ale left me with a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.  Don’t worry, though, I won’t hold it against them since some of their other offerings have truly been outstanding.  I am also willing to concede that maybe the moons are the starts were aligned just right and my tasting was a bit off… so if I see it again, I will have to buy some more to test my first reaction.

As far as the taste goes, this is a hoppy, sour beer that brings you a very bitter aftertaste.  At 8.0% ABV, this beer doesn’t hide the alcohol and it may even be a bit over the top.  In the end, the complete package just doesn’t deliver, keeping this in the middle of the pack.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

avery-old-jubilation-ale

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Avery Brewing, Winter Ale and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avery Old Jubilation Ale

  1. beerdoctor says:

    Sorry you did not enjoy your jubilation, your comment of “sour” leads me to believe you had a heat damaged sample.

  2. dugpark says:

    I will have to pick up another bottle, for sure. Always willing to give good breweries a second chance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

