Dogfish Head Red and White

I know I am in the craft-brew-lovers minority here, but Dogish Head hasn’t always impressed me…  so far they have 2 Middle of the Roads, 2 Will Buy Agains, and 1 For the Win on the blog… not stellar, but not bad.  Today their overall results definitely got a bump, though, with Dogfish Head Red & White.  Dave across the street brought this one over and we heartily partook of the brew as our first taste of the evening.  It was a great experience and one that I would gladly repeat.  As far as the tasting goes:

This beer is much more mild than I expected it to be.  I was thinking it would be one of those that reaches out of the bottle and lets you know it has arrived, but not the case here.  The color and head really aren’t red… more amberish orange, but that is ok.  The nose is clean and crisp and the overall first tastes confirms the noted orange peel.  The body definitely has hints of the Pinot and serves the mellowing purpose, I believe.  As we continued to take it through, the alcohol levels hit us a bit and Dave and I had a great evening… 🙂  By the last glass, this beer looked as unfiltered as it tasted… almost made you want to chew the last bite… I mean drink. 🙂  But still, good stuff that is highly recommended.

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

dogfish-head-red-and-white

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Ale, Dogfish Head Brewery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dogfish Head Red and White

  1. Travis says:

    I agree with you 100% on dogfish head. We have done the Punkin Ale and the 120 IPA. I have to say that I was underwhelmed with both of them. I will have to try and find some of this stuff in hopes to redeem the Dogfish name.

  2. Shea says:

    I like the Palo Santo ale. And, I have this in my fridge from a trip to Seattle. As a wine lover it was hard not to get this beer aged in pinot barrels! One day I’ll open it.

    • dugpark says:

      It will probably be just as good or better if you let it sit… although you really should buy another bottle if you can. Then you can know what you are waiting for. 🙂

  3. Gibby says:

    Kudos to you for making this double-digit ABV your first beer of the evening! LOL!

    I’m a fan of DFH Chicory Stout, but this Red and White was a little too potent of a potable for me!

    http://gibbyspub.blogspot.com/2008/12/dogfish-head-red-and-white.html

  4. Shea says:

    The Chicory is good, but the big beers are better. But that’s just my opinion :). The Midas Touch is pretty good – interesting in any case and worth a try.

Leave a Reply

