Widmer Brothers Drifter Pale Ale

Just as I posted the announcement of our new Oh Happy Day #6 – Widmer Brothers Drifter Pale Ale, I am so quick that I will also post the official tasting!  Drumroll, please…

Lets get straight to it… this is a good beer.  It is solid.  Nothing wrong with it… all pale ale goodness.  This isn’t holy-crap-that-is-the-best-pale-ale-ever beer… but it is very tasty.  Widmer Brothers Drifter Pale Ale comes at you on the darker side with a small head and a very pleasant nose.  It is fragrant, yes, citrus… less so, but I will let them have it. 🙂  The body is where it is at for me, for as noted in the press release, you can definitely tell that this is a different hop taste than normal… hard to put a finger on it, to be honest (although the press release says more citrus as noted above), but bottom line is that it is different and you can tell… I like different, consequently, so that bodes well for me.  The overall body is definitely smooth… silky smooth, in fact, as I am about half way through my mug right now.  I has some complexity in the mouth and finish, but nothing to write home about.  As I continue to drink, I think the final on this one is that it is super approachable.  It isn’t in your face with any particular flavor but there are definitely subtle undertones from start to finish that make this a great little beer to drink for probably any occasion.

Nice work folks!  This one will make it into my fridge again. 🙂

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

drifter-pale-ale

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Pale Ale, Widmer Brothers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Widmer Brothers Drifter Pale Ale

  1. Dan says:

    I really like this pale ale. It’s really smooth and even non-beer drinkers always have a few – consequently it never lasts long in our fridge.

Leave a Reply

