Anchor Christmas Ale 2008

This is going to be right up there for the most interesting winter beer of the year… right up there with Harvey’s Christmas Ale, I think… Anchor Christmas Ale 2008.  I thought for sure I had blogged last year’s Anchor Christmas Ale, but I can’t find it on the blog, so I guess not… the blog is being a bit tempermental, though, so that could be it.  Either way, since they brew it with different “top secret” incredients each year, it doesn’t hurt at all to get it up on the blog.

I looked around on some of the other brew sites for some of the flavors and while some folks note allspice, ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon, I didn’t catch any of those… to each their own, but I wonder if that is what they expected to be in there and so that is what they tasted… I went in with an open mind, so I think coming out of it with vanilla and either juniper or pine may be close… you never know, though, so would be interesting to find out what you thought.  The beer is dark for sure with definite malt foundation.  Super solid and complemented brinner (breakfast for dinner) very well.

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

anchor-christmas-ale

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Anchor, Christmas Ale and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anchor Christmas Ale 2008

  1. Shea says:

    I thought this was a great beer too. I definitely got notes of ‘tree’ – perhaps pine, definitely some sort of evergreen. It certainly wasn’t the standard blend of xmas spices, although I detected a bit of something like nutmeg.

  2. Mike Pearce says:

    This was my favorite holiday beer, very under the radar. I only saw a few six packs & then it was gone.

Leave a Reply

