Alexander Keith’s India Pale Ale

lobster-dinnerMy memory of Alexander Keith’s beer goes back to June of 2002 to a point in time where I had to travel to Glace Bay, Nova Scotia… we were fortunate enough to be taken out on a lobster boat to eat fresh cooked lobster and drink Alexander Keith’s out of the can on a crisp Nova Scotia day. That day ruined all other lobster for me, but it is such a fond memory that I simply don’t care.

Lucky for me, someone at work (thanks!) happened to share an Alexander Keith’s that was brought back to the states and here we are.

Perhaps one of the lightest IPAs I have ever seen, this definitely isn’t a standard American IPA… this one is light… so light, in fact as I probably wouldn’t even put it in the IPA category, really… but hey… it is what it is and whether it lives up to its name or not, the bottom line is that this is really good beer… light and refreshing with just a hint of the standard hops and a healthy dose of malt, this one reminds me of why I liked it so much back then… I wouldn’t ever pick this beer if I were in the mood for a hoppy IPA, but if you put Lobster on the table, I will be hard pressed to not ask then…

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

keiths-ipa

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Alexander Keith's, IPA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alexander Keith’s India Pale Ale

  1. Tom Hoover says:

    I love Alexander Keith’s. I was introduced to it at a Canadian Navy party in Halifax, when my US naval ship was visiting. I was instantly hooked. When I went back to grad school, I had friends who were from Nova Scotia who would sneak me a sixer back in their luggage for me. They don’t think of it as too big of a deal, mainly because its as available as Coors Light is to us here in the states. Glad you had the chance to try and review this wonderful beer.

    • dugpark says:

      That is the kind of memory that I think these guys live on… 🙂 To the point someone else made, if you were trying this in a lineup of other IPAs or the closer tasting lagers/pilsners, it might not stand out… but when you match it to memories… that is where the magic happens. 🙂 Thanks for reading Tom!

  2. Shea says:

    Weird. This is mass produced beer by Molson I believe. I’ve always found it quite innocuous.

Leave a Reply

