Hacker-Pschorr Weisse Dark

After their last outing at JustBeer, I had high high hopes when I found a half-litre of Hacker-Pschorr Dark Weisse at Malt & Vine this weekend – their Oktoberfest that I picked up back in the Autumn was a rioutous good time in a bottle, and one that I hoped to re-live this weekend. 

Sad to say, those high hopes were dashed. On the initial pour, this looks like an interesting beer. A decent head, a reasonable aroma, a slightly cloudy light-brown body from the bottle conditioning and the expectation of a classic German Weisse set things up nicely at the start – but unfortunately a different story was told when it reached my tongue. With too much malt, way too little carbonation, a funky aftertaste and an overall sense of general unpleasantness meant that this one just didn’t make the grade. A definite shame, for I was expecting better.

JBB6 Rating: Just Not Right

Hacker-Pschorr Weisse dark

This entry was posted in Germany, Hacker-Pschorr, Weissbier and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hacker-Pschorr Weisse Dark

  1. dennis boyd says:

    I have 1 case of weisse dark label says date on bottle 07/08 L19681p is this beer still good to drink or should I throw them away, its 2 years old don’t know its safe to drink would appreciate a reply I love the beer thanks

Leave a Reply

