Brewery Ommegang Chocolate Indulgence

I am pretty sure I am supposed to really, really like Brewery Omeggang… but I just can’t get myself to go over the top… I mean they don’t really make a bad beer… but amongst all of the flavorful and unique brews out there I just can’ get them past will buy again or middle of the road.  Again, not that bad… really… but I think there is some self imposed peer pressure out there and I have a complex about it.  Ok. Done. On to the blog.

Another beer brought to you by Mr. Dave… Chocolate Indulgence… thanks sir for providing. 🙂  Of course, you see the label… you think chocolate… but I tell you that it isn’t there.  Not sure how much they use but they need to at least double it up because the chocolate is as absent as contraception on prom night.   There is a bit of a Belgian nose to it… but absolutely no chocolate in either the body or the the nose… really.  I do catch tell tales signs of malt and coffee in there, which aren’t bad mixed with the Belgian yeast and overall presentation but if you were hoping for chocolate, you should wait and go with the Samuel Adams Chocolate Bock.  That is where the money is, my friends.

JBB6 Rating: Middle of the Road

ommegang-chocolate-indulgen

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Belgian Style, Brewery Ommegang and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brewery Ommegang Chocolate Indulgence

  1. Shea says:

    I agree, this beer was underwhelming. It’s just too sweet or something. I definitely taste chocolate, though – but more like the sweet milk-chocolate bar type than the dense pure cacao type. I think that may be due to the total lack of roasted flavour in the beer. Have you had the Ommegeddon? I have a bottle of that and am hoping it is a lot better than this.

    • dugpark says:

      Haven’t had the Ommegeddon yet but it is available at the beer store so may have to pick some up. I just have a hard time forking over the dough for Ommegang when I could go a fridge over and buy a Lost Abbey… 🙂

Leave a Reply

