BridgePort Old Knucklehead

A weight was lifted today.  I made it through something that has been heavy on my mind and so, I wanted to cap it off with something a little more sophisticated than normal.  Ok… really… wine isn’t necessarily more sophisticated than beer (IMO), but it just sounds fancier, doesn’t it?

So, BridgePort Old Knucklehead graced my glass tonight.  Bridgeport Brewery hasn’t really done that great on this blog.  Their brown and their pale ale were just ok…  I might have to change my opinion, though, after tasting tonight’s beer.

This Old Knucklehead comes from a long tradition of Old Knuckleheads and I am proud to say that tonights (012) is the newest of the bunch… even newer than what they have on their website (011).  This version is slightly higher in alcohol content (10% ABV) and doesn’t have some guy on the front. 

As far as taste goes, Old Knucklehead is strong, very strong.  You can notice the it has “legs” when you swirl it around the glass.  I tasted it at 53.7 °F tonight and it had very strong malt and hops with what I swear is somewhat of a rice wine flavor to it.  Next time I should taste it with some sake…  Good head, great dark amber color.  A beer that you don’t guzzle… this one is meant to drink slow and for maximum enjoyment.  Overall a great beer.

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

 

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Barleywine, Bridgeport and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BridgePort Old Knucklehead

    • dugpark says:

      Thank you ver much for letting me know, Daniel. I have sent emails to several folks at GQ to let them know I am dissappointed and that they need to either take it down or give credit immediately.

      Will update as things progress.

Leave a comment