Lagunitas Brown Shugga’

This one is relatively hot off the presses… or at least it was last week when I picked it up at Malt & Vine.  Too bad Lagunitas doesn’t send us samples so we could get people excited *before* the general public gets it… 🙂  Either way, Lagunitas Brown Shugga’ is a fine, fine beer.  A fun little ditty that surprises the hell out of you when you look very closely on the label and see it is 9.5% ABV.  My mind immediately raced to think of what would happen to my body and mind if I quickly consumed the entire 6 pack and then I had to stop myself as visions of sugar plums began dancing in my head.

Er… anyhow… This is a big brew in a tiny bottle and I am very happy to have bought it.  It is dark with a high head that matches its high ABV.  The most notable is the hops… but there is a definite muted quality to them as the malt and sweet take over and mellow it out.  I liked it better as it warmed up a bit, but this brew can be consumed at any temperature.  About half way through my second bottle, I paired it with some smoked mozzarella and I have to say that it was perfect!  The cheese smooths the brew out a bit and the smokiness compliments the darker undertones of the brew.

A super solid offering from our friends at Lagunitas.

JBB6 Rating: For the Win

lagunitas-brown-shugga

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Ale, Lagunitas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lagunitas Brown Shugga’

  1. Shea says:

    Hm, saw this on tap at Toronados in San Francisco. I guess I should try it.

Leave a comment