Molson Ice

Okay… for those of you that think I am a friggin’ beer snob, this one will change your mind.  I actually didn’t mind this beer.  There, I said it.  A macro ice beer and I didn’t think it was crap.

Just to make sure, I just had another one and it really and truly isn’t bad.  I just came back from a trip to Canada where the overall beer experience was just not good and I wish they had this available when we were there.  The best we found was the Whistler Brewery Export Lager… and that wasn’t saying that much.

Molson Ice (although I couldn’t find a product webpage) actually delivers a decent lager experience that adds a bit of a 5.6% ABV kick at the end.  Clean and simple, there are no strong aftertastes, no skunkiness, just good clean lager flavor… pure and simple.  This wasn’t that cheap, though, at $5.99 per six pack, this is priced right up there with some of the other stuff that gets some good reviews on the blog. 

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Ice Beer, Molson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Molson Ice

  1. Joe says:

    molson ice what up with the new brown bottle and the taste?

  2. CB says:

    I agree – “what up” – I think the taste is far less quality, and more like a cheap lagger than a fine tasting beer. Hope the “green ice” (the taste) is not gone for good.

  3. anthony fawcett says:

    My name is Tony. I am from Tacoma Wa. I have been a molson Ice Drinker since 1998. I have went through all the changes with the beer. Smaller green bottles. Twist top. New labels etc..But now the Brown bottles with the syrup taste is Unexceptable. Until they change back i have boycotted the beer. I does not taste the same.
    Am I the only one who feels this way. Bring back the Green Bottle!!!

  4. Tom Fox says:

    I just purchased Molson Ice, and am baffled. The bottles are brown and it doesn’t taste like the ice via the green bottles. What up???

  5. Butch says:

    are you guys new beer drinkers or something?….changing to brown bottles was an EXCELLENT idea. Green Bottles let too much sunlight in, which is why you get SKUNKED beer….The beer is now MUCH BETTER than it was before….I guess you guys enjoy skunky beer

  6. kilroy says:

    My Dad and I have both loved Molson Ice for years. When I tried the new brown bottle, I was surprised how different it tasted and my Dad thinks so too. I am really trying to get figure out if they reformulated it (cheapened really). I really don’t like it as much.

  7. Maddy says:

    I have been a Molson Ice drinker for a long time now, actually its the only beer I drink, I am very sadden by the change. The green bottle was the signature look for the beer and the taset is why I would drink it. I dont like it at all, its like drinking a light beer,, uggggg

  8. desiree dupree says:

    I have always enjoyed the taste of Molson Ice-Green Bottles. It had a different taste. A taste I have always enjoyed !!

    Has anything else changed besides the bottle to BROWN? I think so… It tastes like an ORDINARY PLAIN BEER..I never liked ORDINARY PLAIN BEER… I am not an ORDINARY PLAIN GIRL….

    What’s the point of drinking it now?
    BRING BACK MY MOLSON ICE – GREEN BOTTLE PLEASE !!!

  9. dugpark says:

    Such passion around Molson Ice… I love it! I will see if I can get in touch with someone at the company and get the low down… I also need to go buy some more, obviously and get a new picture up. 🙂

    Thanks for reading, folks!

    Dug

  10. Fatboy Jeff says:

    I WANT THE GREEN BACK!!!! – YES IT SKUNKS IF YOU LET IT GET LIGHT WHEN STORED OR IF YOU LET IT GET WARM – BUT FRESH COLD MOLSON ICE IS LIKE AN ANGEL PISSIN ON YOUR TOUNGE – LOVE IT!!!!

  11. john says:

    I have been a molson ice drinker for decades, i noticed the brown bottle, but not really any difference in taste? What i have noticed is that all of a sudden you can’t buy it here anymore in Cols. Ohio

  12. corby says:

    My friend bob, my brother bob and I, have been drinking molson ice for ever.It is by far the best beer out there,what have you done too the best beer ever molson.It taste like shit,miller high life might be better.As we all know that is one of the worst,sorry miller.Get rid of those brown bottles,if that’s the difference.Please bring that clean crisp cold taste of the best beer in the world back.You will lose alot of money if you do not and in this economy that you can not afford. Sincerely Corby21

  13. Jonboy says:

    I totally agree here. I’ve been lovin’ Molson Ice for about 5 years and this brown bottle stuff just ain’t cutting it. I’m in N.H. and when I visit family in Mass. they’ve got the green bottled beer and believe me, it DOES taste better! Until the folks at Molson stop messin’ around with this cheap replacement, I’ll be switching to Beck’s or Sam Adams.
    Thanks for the rant.

  14. Ron Francis says:

    I’m so glad to see I’m not the only one who misses the green bottle and the taste is different! I’m boycotting the brown as well.

  15. Fala says:

    I went to their website and wrote to the company to ask them about this change, cause I thought maybe it was a mix up – that they were putting the Molson Ice label on the Molson Golden bottles and here’s what they said:

    Thank you for your Email concerning Molson Ice. The objective was to have all MUSA brands in the amber bottle. As a result, the emerald bottle was discontinued.One of the immediate benefits is the light protection to the beer as provided by the reduction filtering of the UV spectrum by the amber colored glass. The beer is less likely to have the sensory changes (skunky aroma) associated with the change in hop compounds when the beer is exposed tosunlight/strong light sources . Please be assured that the wonderful recipe Of Molson Ice has not changed.
    If you have other questions or comments, please contact us again either by e-mail at http://www.molson.com or by calling the Consumer Information Center Hotline: 1-877-665-7661. We are available weekdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, and the staff will welcome your call.
    Sincerely, Suzette C. Jacquith Customer Service Representative Consumer Affairs

    I still don’t think it’s the same beer. It doesn’t taste the same or smell the same and I don’t think it’s as strong as the stuff in the green bottle.

  16. Alex says:

    I haven’t had a drop of alcohol in over 4 months and I break my sobriety with this junk. I used to love Molson Ice. It was my favorite. Definitely has a syrupy/flowery taste to it now like mentioned in post #3. I loved the “clean crisp cold taste” like mentioned in post #12. Sorry I even decided to have ANY alcohol now. I don’t know how but the change of bottle color definitely messed up the flavor. I’d rather have skunked beer if that’s what it takes to get that flavor back.

  17. Jay D says:

    You guys are crazy. I bet I could line up a blind taste test and you couldn’t pick the Molson Ice from the Pabst. I picked up a 12 pack tonight. Haven’t had any for a few years. I was looking for an alternative to mixed drinks. You know, come home after work and have a couple, get a little buzz, take the edge off. Well, Molson Ice does the trick. Good carbonation, nice head (with slight lacing) and a sweat/bitter taste. Com’on guys. Brown bottles, green bottles who cares??? It’s not life and death stuff!

  18. Abby says:

    My husband thinks I’m crazy. I bought a second case thinking maybe it was me. It’s not. This new molson ice in the brown bottles stink! It tastes watery to me. Molson Ice used to be my “every day” beer. Now I’m not going to buy it anymore. WTF

  19. BigGirl says:

    OMG am I happy to find this! I have LOVED Molson ICE for years and now we in Detroit Michigan are getting this brown bottle ish. NO DEAL! This brown bottle tastes EXACTLY like Molson Canadian! I managed to get my hands on a green bottle tonight and set them side by side and tasted them both. I also had 2 others taste it. DIFFERENT BEERS and I’m not buying that ‘different color bottle bullish either!

Leave a comment