Dieu du ciel! Péché Mortel (Mortal Sin) Imperial Stout

A good day for the beer, I must say.  Some good work done during the morning and into lunch hour put Mark and I in good spirits to have lunch on the way back to the other office.  A stop by Malt & Vine seemed like a great idea, so we picked up some gyros from Gyros 2 Go and we took it over to M&V.  Doug was working today and served us a couple of fine brews.  I picked Ommegang Chocolate Indulgence Stout off the tap as my first and quickly determined that it needed to warm up a bit. 🙂  Some beer just needs it.  So, while I was waiting for that, Doug pointed me toward a hard-to-get bottle from good old Canada, Dieu du ciel! Péché Mortel (Mortal Sin) Imperial Stout.  As he told me, the folks at Dieu du ciel! know a thing or two about beer and this was no exception.

Compared to the Ommegang, this beer was like a good IPA to Coors… ok, maybe not that bad, but it sure has a kick.  You can smell the complexity in this beer from the minute you open the bottle and the coffee isn’t hidden.  It reaches out of the glass and slaps you across the face a couple of times and then retreats to assault your taste buds.  Dark, roasted coffee and malt say howdy to your mouth as you take a drink and even though the bottle was cold, this beer can handle it just fine.  I could see this beer replacing your Starbucks if you were thinking about switching… probably costs about the same and you would have a pleasant little buzz going, courtesy of the 9.5% ABV this baby has.  The bottle even tells you that you should “drink it in moderation.”  I wonder if there is a story behind that one!

Anyhow, I finally made it back to the Chocolate Indulgence, but it wasn’t holding much of a candle to “Mortal Sin”.  How could it with a sissy name like Chocolate Indulgence, though… really…

JBB6 Rating: Will Buy Again

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Dieu du ciel!, Stout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment