Kennebunkport Blueberry Wheat Ale

My second trip into blueberry beer land has been an abismal failure.  Kennebunkport Blueberry Wheat Ale disapoints with the best of them (Wild Blue) and leaves me feeling slightly violated.  Ok… ok… that is pretty harsh. It did get better when I started thinking of my happy place while eating cashews and holding my nose.

I am not sure, but the blueberry beer genre may truly be set up to fail. 

Kennebunkport Blueberry Wheat Ale starts with a slight blueberry smell… just subtle enough and slight tart enough to have me hoping this one comes through for me.  Then you taste it and realize the body actually has not blueberry flavor… the finish sure does, but it is way, way too sweet.  I mean candy sweet… enough to make me do the mouth-open-stick-tongue-out-and-chew-on-it move.  Make the flavor go away!

Oh… and BTW folks… get a friggin website up and running, would you?  Your trail of breweries and restaurants and beer consulting companies is making my head hurt.

JBB6 Rating: Just Not Right

About dugpark

I'm really just happy to be here on this wild ride we call life.
This entry was posted in Blueberry Ale, Kennebunkport Brewing Company and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kennebunkport Blueberry Wheat Ale

  1. Mike says:

    Really? I love it and used to get it at trader joes – would love to find more of it. The apricot is pretty good too!

  2. Gina says:

    I do like the beer, but agree with dugpark… trying to follow the website is a joke!! Would buy the beer again, but gave up looking for a place to purchase it online. Too much trouble.

  3. Jim says:

    I thought it was amazing! Im online searching for it right now… I do agree about them needing a website though…

Leave a comment